A Comforting Place

9 05 2014

My sojourn at the Palliative Care Unit of the L.A. Miller Centre opened my eyes to a place I was initially wary of, loyal reader. I’ve had many hospital stays over the last five years, for sure. I always had excellent care from my doctors and nurses but there were many aspects of dying in a hospital that simply were too sad to think about.

By contrast, the PCU forgoes the trappings of the Health Science Centre units I’ve stayed in before. Other than a box for disposing of sharps and needles, there’s no sign of medical equipment, not even those ubiquitous carts for vitals. There is a basic hospital bed but it’s covered by lovely quilts for a warm homey feel.

The furnishings provide plenty of storage space with a dresser, nightstand with extendable tray and a rolling table. A comfortable chair by the bed can be converted into a cot for overnight visitors. There’s also a wall-mounted flat-screen television with free basic cable!

The walls are adorned with pictures as you would find in a nice motel. My window had a view towards downtown St. John’s and the Basilica. Of course residents are encouraged to bring pictures and items to make their room truly theirs.

Altogether the room feels a bit institutional but in a manner more reminiscent of a dorm room than a hospital.

The PCU floor itself has a much more peaceful vibe than my what I’ve lived in at the Health Science Centre or even in Halifax. Especially at the HSC, corridors are filled with fast-moving doctors, nurses, cleaners, supply carts full of medical paraphernalia, visitors, patients, porters and more. It’s always noisy with conversations, the beeps of machines and the hum of floor buffers.

By contrast, residents of the PCU don’t need to be diagnosed, examined or much bothered. The personnel is there to make their lives comfortable. Nurses don’t come in throughout the day and night to record vitals. I never actually had much interaction with my providers unless I called on them or it was time for my pills. I can’t speak for others, but in my case this respect of my privacy and independence is the greatest care I can be given.

One of the perks of life on the PCU is the shower. It’s pretty much a room of its own and is always spotless. The shower has two heads and is molded with a bench for plenty of space and comfort. Towels, washcloths and gel is provided. And as long as it’s not occupied ai could just step in any time.

The one thing that sealed the deal for me more than anything is the food. After years of eating re-heated, bland and plastic-tasting hospital trays I couldn’t bear the thought of going through it three times a day forever. It’d be a constant battle with nausea.

As it turns out, the Palliative Care Unit’s meals are cooked on-site and distributed to residents from the floor’s own kitchen. Prior to bringing in your meal, a friendly volunteer comes to ask you what you would like out of two or three options. Hot meals, cold plates, soups and tasty desserts are worlds apart from what I hadcelsewhere. It tasted as closed to home-cooked as could be. Particularly yummy was a lunch of egg salad croissant served with fresh fruit and a hearty rice soup.

To relax with visitors or just fir a change of pace, residents can avail themselves of a kitchen area that’s lovingly decorated as well as a spacious living room with a large-screen TV. A nondenominational “sacred space” is also there to provide spiritual comfort.

As for visitors, the PCU has no innate restrictions as to the frequency and number, so long as the residents can comfortably handle them and there are no disturbances. Even pets are welcome! And as I mentioned overnight visits are an option with a cot.

The only thing I wish I had available was Wi-Fi service, but that would be easily remedied: if I ever go back I can simply set up a monthly Internet Wi-Fi.

I only so far have spent a few days out at the L.A. Miller Centre. But those days were enough to get rid of all my fears. My number one desire is still to live at home with my beloved wife and cats. But if my comfort and care needs ever exceed what can be done here, I really have no problem moving back into the PCU to die there in peace. Their dedication to peace, comfort and dignity is exactly what I would need.


Actions

Information

2 responses

2 09 2014
The Final Chapter | Chez Seb

[…] by ambulance in the middle of the night in a room on the parking lot side of the PCU. As before, the room is homey and comfortable with a dresser, stuffy chair and flat screen […]

15 09 2014
denkmalschutz immobilien

My spouse and I stumbled over here different page and thought I may
as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following
you. Look forward to exploring your web page for a second time.

Leave a comment