Micro Money Management

25 05 2013

You know, loyal reader, looking back on the years I spent living in poverty I find myself thankful for the survival and home economics skills they taught me. I’m also thankful for my wife who was with me for a couple of those years.

With the car repairs once more eating an unexpected hole in out budget (before we had a chance to replenish the emergency fund money we spent on the last repairs less than two months ago), we find ourselves again having to tighten our belt until the next payday. But our experience is a great ally because we’re now used to managing a small amount of money to get the maximum out of meagre resources.

My wife’s culinary skills and extensive spice collection, along with her hundreds of recipes, lets us make very tasty and nutritious meals out of the reserves in our cupboards and some cheap staples from the grocery store. Despite the tightness of the situation, we still manage to pay the bills and the rent and we’re damn proud of that. This low-fund period will be short-lived, thank goodness, but our past lets us handle it without much stress.


Actions

Information

2 responses

25 05 2013
Penny :)

if u need a mechanic let me know see if i can get u a number of a guy that most of my friends use. he is reasonable pricing and he will not fix something that does not need fixing

25 05 2013
thepantedpuffin

Cool! I already have 3 or 4 placed that came recommended that I gotta call, but the more the better!

Leave a comment